About Uzbekistan

About Uzbekistan

About Uzbekistan

Uzbekistan at a glance

Formal name: The Republic of Uzbekistan
Geographic coordinates: 41°N, 64 °E
Area: total 447,400 km2: land: 425,400 km2, water: 22,000 km2
Land boundaries: total: 6,221 km border countries: Afghanistan 137 km, Kazakhstan 2,203 km, Kyrgyzstan 1,099 km, Tajikistan 1,161 km, Turkmenistan 1,621 km
Population: 29.9 million
Density of population: 50.1 per km2
Capital: Tashkent
Official Language: Uzbek. Widely used: Russian and Karakalpak. English is popular among young generation.
National currency: Sum (1 sum=100 tiyin)
Structure: Autonomous Republic of Karakalpakistan, 12 provinces, 226 cities and districts.
Religion: Islam, 88%; Christianity, 9%
Time: GMT + 05:00
Electric power: 220 VAC, 50 amp; standard two-pin plug socket (equivalent to Europe)
Domain zone: .uz
International dialing code: +998

Location of Uzbekistan

The Republic of Uzbekistan is situated in the central part of Central Asia between two rivers: the Amudarya and Syrdarya. The Turan Lowland lies to the northwest, and the Tien-Shan and Pamir-Alay mountain ranges are located in the southeast of the territory. The Kyzyl-Kum Desert defines the northern part of the country. Uzbekistan borders Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan.


Uzbek cuisine can not be described, it has to be tasted. Fruits and vegetables grown under the tender oriental sun are prominent. There are about 100 varieties of Uzbek plov, the national dish. Plov is often made with meat, rice, onions, and carrots, though it is prepared in a different way in every region. In all, there are over one thousand dishes in Uzbek cuisine.


All payments must be made in "Sum," the national currency of the Republic of Uzbekistan. Currency exchange offices are available in every city of Uzbekistan. All foreign currencies may be converted in main offices of banks. Preferred currencies are US dollars and Euros.

Public holidays

January 1 — New Year
March 8 — Women's Day
March 21 — Navruz (Islamic New Year)
May 9 — Memorial Day
September 1 — Independence Day
October 1 — Teacher's Day
December 8 — Constitution Day

There are other religious holidays with varying dates:

Ramadan Khait
Kurban Khait